Stewards4Christ

February 20, 2010

Waiting on God

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michael Wright @ 4:41 pm

“Youths may faint and grow weary, and young men stumble and fall, but those who trust in the LORD will renew their strength; they will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary; they will walk and not faint.” (Isaiah 40:30-31, HCSB)

“Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.” (Isaiah 40:30-31, ESV)

Over the past few days, God has been ministering to me through these two verses of scripture. For years, my favorite Bible verse has been Isaiah 40:31. I’m fascinated with eagles and I love this scripture and the promise of renewed strength from God when we wait on Him.

Waiting is VERY HARD for me. I’m not a very patient person. There are several things in my life that are “fast” and I start thinking that FAST needs to carry over to my spiritual life and to the speed with which I’d like to see prayers answered. However, I know this isn’t always God’s plan or will.

For example, I have a BUNN coffee maker which will make a pot of coffee in about 3 minutes! It is the best coffee, especially if you use Dunkin’ Donuts coffee!! That is awesome—an entire pot of fresh brewed coffee in 3 minutes…that is FAST. Also, I have Road Runner TURBO internet…this means I can download files, videos, and web pages at a very FAST pace! I love it!! Of course, since I’m a software consultant / computer geek, I like my computers to be FAST as well.

However, when it comes to knowing God’s will or seeing God answer prayer – I realize that FAST is not always the speed at which God operates. His timing is totally different from what we are used to here on earth. “Dear friends, don’t let this one thing escape you: with the Lord one day is like 1,000 years, and 1,000 years like one day.” (2 Peter 3:8, HCSB) “For in Your sight a thousand years are like yesterday that passes by, like a few hours of the night.” (Psalm 90:4, HCSB) The following is from the Life Application Study Bible: “Moses reminds us that a thousand years are like a day to the Lord. God is not limited by time. It’s easy to get discouraged when years pass and the world doesn’t get better. We sometimes wonder if God is able to see the future. But don’t assume that God has our limitations. God is completely unrestricted by time. Because he is eternal, we can depend on him.”

I have felt God calling me to put the brakes on a little bit when it comes to spiritual matters. I think He wants me to slow down, stand still, and let Him move in His own way. The words of this song are powerful and well-written:

Stand Still – By The Isaacs

The Father has a plan. Though it’s hard to see it now
You feel you’re walking all alone. But He is there no doubt
When the storm around you rages, And you’re tossed to and fro,
When you’re faced with life’s decisions, Not sure which way to go.

Stand still and let God move. Standing still is hard to do.
When you feel you have reached the end, He’ll make a way for you.
Stand still and let God move.

When the enemy surrounds you, And the walls are closing in
When the tide is swiftly rising, And you wonder where He’s been
Friend, there never was a moment, That His arms weren’t reaching out.
You can rest assured and be secure, God is moving right now.

Stand still and let God move. Standing still is hard to do.
When you feel you have reached the end, He’ll make a way for you.
Stand still and let God move.

 

 

1 Comment »

  1. I love the encouragement and the words to the song by the Isaacs.please pray for me thanks harry

    Comment by harry — February 20, 2010 @ 6:53 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

