Stewards4Christ

February 24, 2009

Refreshing to hear!

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michael Wright @ 9:00 pm

Honesty and integrity…these are values that seem to have almost totally disappeared in America. What a shame! I once heard a Christian person say that it “is impossible to be totally honest all of the time!” I disagree. I believe God requires honesty and integrity…at any cost…and it is not impossible if a person really wants to be honest!

You may not be a Glen Beck fan…I happen to be one of his fans and I was encouraged this evening to hear his monologue on this subject. Take a look at this clip: http://www.foxnews.com/video/index.html?playerId=videolandingpage&streamingFormat=FLASH&referralObject=3723221&referralPlaylistId=playlist. I’m thankful that Glen Beck is still willing to go on a national television program and proclaim the truth! Thank you Glen for being faithful to what is right.

I remember when I left Sprint, about 12 years ago. Sprint continued paying me after I quit and was no longer one of their employees. I could have not said a word…and it would have been nice to have the extra $$. However, my desire to be honest all the time caused me to call my former boss and let her know about the error. It was my responsibility to do what was honest…all of the time! I didn’t get to keep the extra $$, but I did get to go to bed that night knowing I had a clear conscience. That was worth much more than the extra $$.

The Bible contains hundreds of verses that tell us that God requires that His children be completely honest. Here are just a few:

“The Lord loathes all cheating and dishonesty” (Proverbs 20:23, TLB).

“Lying lips are an abomination to the Lord” (Proverbs 12:22, NASB).

“The Lord hates…a lying tongue” (Proverbs 6:16-17, NASB).

I grew up being taught this principle, honesty is always the best policy, and I believe that to still be true – even if the whole world seems to be dishonest!!

2 Comments »

  1. I just blogged at http://sumpteretc.wordpress.com, regarding a poll of American teenagers. The survey revealed that “although the overwhelming majority of teens (80 percent) believe they are ethically prepared to make moral business decisions, nearly 40 percent believe they need to “break the rules” in order to succeed…. Furthermore, among those who say they are ethically prepared for business, nearly half (49 percent) say lying to parents and guardians is acceptable.” Scary stuff, huh?

    Comment by sumpteretc — February 24, 2009 @ 11:21 pm | Reply

  2. Just passing by.Btw, your website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

    Comment by Mike — March 1, 2009 @ 8:55 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

