Stewards4Christ

February 23, 2009

A Full Surrender!

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michael Wright @ 7:43 pm

Several days ago I posted some thoughts about half-way religion. My devotional thoughts today take me back to this particular area – that of making a full surrender to Jesus Christ. Don’t shoot the messenger! I didn’t write the Bible – I’m just reading and studying it and trying my best to apply what I learn to my spiritual walk with a holy God. What I’m reading certainly makes logical sense to me as well. I’m a very practical and logical person! Logically, how could a holy God that has a very high standard of holiness allow people into heaven who are not living a holy life? It would make heaven an impure place…heaven would become what this old world has become.

I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God” (Romans 12:1-2 NKJV).

I like what Dr. David Jeremiah says about this passage of scripture in his monthly devotional magazine, Turing Points: “Surrendering our ‘all’ to Christ doesn’t mean we’re dispirited prisoners waving a white flag. It means we’ve come face to face with the King of Kings, and we are willing to defer every preference to Him. Knowing He is all-powerful, we submit as a servant to a king. Knowing He is all-loving, we yield as a child to a father. Knowing He is all-wise, we gladly choose His will over our own.”

The question for me today, and the question I pose to you the reader, “Have I (or you) chosen His will over my (or your) own?” Making that full surrender to God completes your experience of full-salvation. Being saved is the first part, making that surrender to God and allowing him to cleanse your heart of that carnal nature is the second part, or the second half.

Jonathan Edwards, that great preacher said, “I have been before God, and have given myself, all that I am and have, to God; so that I am not, in any respect, my own… I have given myself clear away.”

Who is going to see God? We know that answer from the words of Jesus in Mathew 5:8, “Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God” (NASB).

I close this post with these words from Edwin Hatch in thy hymn Breath on Me, Breath of God:

Breathe on me, breath of God,
Fill me with life anew,
That I may love what Thou dost love,
And do what Thou wouldst do.

Breathe on me, breath of God,
Until my heart is pure,
Until with Thee I will one will,
To do and to endure.

Breathe on me, breath of God,
Blend all my soul with Thine,
Until this earthly part of me
Glows with Thy fire divine.

Breathe on me, breath of God,
So shall I never die,
But live with Thee the perfect life
Of Thine eternity.

1 Comment »

  1. I find it interesting that you quote two Calvinists in a post on “full surrender.”

    Comment by sumpteretc — February 24, 2009 @ 2:34 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

