Stewards4Christ

September 21, 2008

Election 2008 Prayer Guide

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michael Wright @ 3:11 pm

Recently, a friend of mine whom I’ve known since she was a little girl, Elizabeth Brown, challenged me with an open letter calling Christians to pray for our upcoming election. It seems like for years I’ve heard people talk about the awful condition of America and our world. I’m sure times might be worse now than they were a hundred years ago, it’s hard to know for sure. However, one thing I do know for sure is that God’s Word has not changed and that the same God that was in control a hundred years ago is in control today. “Jesus Christ is the same yesterday, today, and forever” (Hebrews 13:8).

I will not hide the fact that I’m a proud supporter of McCain and Palin! I wasn’t very impressed with John McCain prior to the announcement of Sara Palin as his running mate. During the past 3 weeks, I have fallen in love with Sarah Palin (don’t worry, my wife knows about this crush of mine! J). I believe Sarah has the courage and the aptitude needed to effectively serve as Vice President and even President should that be deemed necessary. Sarah is a committed Christian and a pro-life Mom and a lady whom I believe is in touch with the real world. Last Friday, the 700 Club did a special report on Sarah’s faith. You can read that report and see the video here.

Over this weekend I thought about the parallels between the opportunity Sarah Palin has engaged in and what Queen Esther faced, as recorded in the Bible. I believe God controlled the heart of John McCain and caused him to select Palin as his running mate. To me, she is like Queen Esther, “Who knows, perhaps you have come to the kingdom for such a time as this” (Esther 4:14b).

This morning in church I started multi-tasking and looking at some scripture verses that assure me that God is still in control of our political situation in 2008. I want to share just a few of those with the readers of my blog. I pray these verses encourage you as much as they did me. I also pray that they encourage you to spend time praying specifically about this upcoming election. I certainly believe Jesus Christ could return at any moment and I’m doing my best to be ready for the rapture. But, in the meantime, I want to pray for the great country of America and also those who are leading or who will be leading us for the next four years.

God controls the hearts of our leaders. Proverbs 21:1, “A king’s heart is a water channel in the LORD’s hand: He directs it wherever He chooses.” Whether the Republicans or the Democrats control the White House, we can know that God is controlling the heart of whoever is elected as President. We can begin praying now for our new President. God already knows who will win the election.

God accomplishes His purpose. Proverbs 16:4, “The LORD has prepared everything for His purpose–even the wicked for the day of disaster. ” God may choose to let America have a less than ideal leader as part of His punishment of a country that has seemingly left Him out of the picture. The NIV Study Bible has these comments about this verse: “God is sovereign in every life and in all of history. Even through wicked men God displays His power and all evil will be judged.” Let us pray that God will help us as a country to turn back to Him, His Word, and the principles our country was originally founded upon.

God helps those who commit their way to Him. Proverbs 16:1, “The reflections of the heart belong to man, but the answer of the tongue is from the LORD.” McCain and Palin both have good ideas and plans that, if elected, could really benefit this country. However, it will be God who will give them the ability to accomplish those plans (Proverbs 16:9). Let us pray that God will guide Sarah’s tongue as she debates Biden next week on October 2. This is going to be a tough debate for Sarah Palin, she mentioned this last week in an interview with Sean Hannity on Fox News. I know God can give her the right answers for the questions that will be asked of her. I pray that Sarah will keep her way committed to the Lord (Proverbs 3:5-6). The NIV Study Bible says, “Be ever mindful of God and serve him with a willing and faithful heart. He will remove the obstacles from your pathway and bring you to your appointed goal.”  

God gives grace and help to the humble. I Peter 5:5b, “God resists the proud, but gives grace to the humble.” I’m joining with Rev. Paul Riley who baptized Sarah when she was 12 years old and praying that Palin will continue to maintain a humble spirit. (“My prayer is that she will continue to be humble,” Rev. Riley said. “That she will realize that she has God who is able to help her and give her wisdom and she will not be prideful over it. God will give her wisdom” CBNNews.com.)

I’m encouraged about the future of America. I believe God is still hearing and answering the prayers of Christians across our land who are coming to Him with a humble and prayerful attitude. “We know that all things work together for the good of those who love God: those who are called according to His purpose” (Romans 8:28). Thank you, Elizabeth, for challenging Christians to spend extra time praying about this election and for our country. I’m glad you were faithful to God and thankful you wrote your open letter. May God bless you in a special way!

2 Comments »

  1. Hey, MJ, this is excellent. I prayed yesterday as I was walking in the neighborhood. I am praying for God to have mercy on America. For Him to remember that we have been friends of His chosen ones, the Jews. I am reminded of something Albert Barr said years ago. It was to the effect that while there are many who think that Christians are the problem, they are actually the ones who are holding God’s wrath at bay. I believe that is true. If they could only understand that it is now we that are the problem, but we who are keeping them from a HUGE problem.

    Comment by Sharmen — September 21, 2008 @ 7:38 pm | Reply

  2. I have joined an alliance of Christians who have pledged to pray for at least 3 min. every 3 hrs. for our nation and this election. Some of my friends are even setting their alarms for 12, 3, and 6 and getting up to pray throughout the night and after reading what I have here, I think I need to take it to this level too. I’d like to encourage all reading this to take up this challenge and share it with all your friends and family too.

    Comment by Erica Fairchild — October 21, 2008 @ 7:28 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

