Stewards4Christ

March 8, 2008

It’s ALL About Me…or is it?

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michael Wright @ 12:00 pm

I’ve developed a routine of walking during my lunch break most days that I’m gone to work. When the weather is permissible, my favorite place to walk is a nearby park. When the weather isn’t the greatest, I walk at a mall that is near the office where I work.

This week, I walked by a clothing store in the mall that had a green t-shirt on display. The slogan on the t-shirt read, “It’s ALL About Me.” This statement caught my eye, and it reminded me of how many in our world really do feel and act that way. Have you ever been around someone that thought the world revolved around them? I live with someone who thinks this way…none other than my adorable two-year-old daughter! After all, this is the attitude that every child is born with. We as parents have the huge responsibility of teaching our children that it’s NOT all about me!

While we all recognize that two year old children feel this way, how sad it is that so many adults seem to feel this way as well. Here are just a few examples that come to my mind. I know there are more, and you may think of something not on my list:

  • “I’m done with my wife, so I’ll file for a divorce.”
  • “I want a new car, even though I don’t know how I’ll pay for it, so I’ll finance it.”
  • “I don’t want to go through a pregnancy and carry this baby, so I’ll get an abortion.”
  • “I have the right to wear immodest clothing, it’s my body.”
  • “It’s my money; I can buy whatever I want! I’m the one who earned it!”
  • “It’s my body; I can get a tattoo of some ugly monster if I want.”

It’s ALL about me…or is it?

Why did God create you and allow you to be born into this world? The Bible says we are created in God’s image (Gen. 1:27). Is it really ALL ABOUT ME? I don’t think so. Every day that we are allowed to wake up and smell the coffee is a gift from God! We have no promise of another day past the day we have right now. If we are created in God’s image, and if each day of life is a gift from God, it sounds to me like it’s not all about me!

Are you living in a way that pleases God? Are you practicing the golden rule and putting others above your own wants and desires? Are you using what God has blessed you with in a way that would please Him? You see, stewardship covers every area of our lives. It’s not just the money we have been entrusted with…it is our time…our possessions…our talents…it ALL belongs to Him. It’s not about me…but rather God and His purposes.

What are the two greatest commandments given to us in the Bible?

Mark 12:30-31, “Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, with all your mind, and with all your strength.  The second is: Love your neighbor as yourself. There is no other commandment greater than these” (HCSB).

We are called to love God and then to love others…as much as we love ourselves! This leaves no room for it being “all about me!” It’s all about God and others. You know what is sad? I’ve met some pretty fine people who seemed to love others more than they love themselves, and as far as I know these people make no profession of being a Christian! On the other hand, I’ve met some pretty selfish “Christians.”

In 1 Corinthians 13:4-5 (the great love chapter) of the Bible, we read these words:

“Love is very patient and kind, never jealous or envious, never boastful or proud, never haughty or selfish or rude. Love does not demand its own way. It is not irritable or touchy. It does not hold grudges and will hardly even notice when others do it wrong” (TLB).

Paul goes on to tell us about his spiritual maturity in verse 11, “It’s like this: when I was a child I spoke and thought and reasoned as a child does. But when I became a man my thoughts grew far beyond those of my childhood, and now I have put away the childish things” (TLB).

I trust your spiritual life has matured past that of a child…I hope you realize that an attitude of “it’s ALL about me” is a childish attitude…like that of my two-year-old daughter. God wants us to mature to a point where we can see beyond ourselves and our selfish wants and desires.

My prayer is that the Lord would help me to be spiritually mature and to live the way He wants me to live each and every day.


1 Comment »

  1. I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Susan Kishner

    Comment by Susan Kishner — March 8, 2008 @ 12:48 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

