Stewards4Christ

January 26, 2008

What the Bible says about technology

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michael Wright @ 8:59 am

Recently I was challenged by an individual that said there was no difference between the appliance typically called a television and our computers! This got me thinking about what I believe are differences between these types of technology and also thinking about what God’s Word teaches us about technology. I’ll save my opinions on the differences for some other time, for it does not really matter what Michael thinks, what God thinks and what He requires of each of His children is what really matters.

The following is my testimony of what God has shown me in this area. These are some of the principles that Shawna and I live by and we use these principles to govern our use of any and every form of technology. One thing I know is that the technology in our world is changing very rapidly. I believe every sincere Christian will desire to build on principles that will stand not only in 2008 but in 2018, 2028, 2038, etc! My goal is for my children to build their personal convictions upon solid Bible principles that will guide them when they grow up and leave home. I’m trying to do this in my life, and by God’s grace I’m trying to pass this desire on to each of my children.

First of all, the Bible doesn’t specifically mention any particular technology. Sometimes I wish it were very plain what was acceptable and what was not acceptable for individuals serving God, but God in His infinite wisdom did not choose to have the Bible written in this way. So, we have to take the principles it contains and carefully work out our own salvation, with fear and trembling, and believe me, it is sometimes very fearful (Philippians 2:12).

The following scriptures are taken from The Living Bible. I’ve found this paraphrase to be very helpful when trying to apply God’s Word to my life.

Psalm 141:4, “Take away my lust for evil things; don’t let me want to be with sinners, doing what they do, sharing their dainties.”

Psalm 101:2-4, “I will try to walk a blameless path, but how I need your help, especially in my own home, where I long to act as I should. Help me to refuse the low and vulgar things; help me to abhor all crooked deals of every kind, to have no part in them. I will reject all selfishness and stay away from every evil.”

Philippians 4:8-9, “Fix your thoughts on what is true and good and right. Think about things that are pure and lovely, and dwell on the fine, good things in others. Think about all you can praise God for and be glad about. Keep putting into practice all you learned from me and saw me doing, and the God of peace will be with you.”

1 Thessalonians 5:22, “Keep away from every kind of evil.”

These four passages of scripture contain principles that I am trying to live by personally, and also principles Shawna and I are trying to adhere to in our home. The beautiful thing about this is that these principles give us FREEDOM to use technology of all sorts as long as we are not violating the principles of holy living.

For us, we decided to not own a television, but we did decide to try and carefully use the internet, computers, and DVDs in a controlled manner. We had a pastor that once said (back before DVDs were so popular) that a VCR had better be a Very Controlled Resource! I think that is very good, and it is so applicable to every form of technology.

Personally, I believe God has given me the gift of using and understanding technology. My children are growing up in a world heavily influenced by technology, television, and movies. As their father, I have the HUGE responsibility of helping to guide them and teach them these biblical principles. In addition to this, Shawna and I have assumed the responsibility of educating them in all areas of life by also homeschooling them. The technologies that we use help us accomplish these tasks. We are very thankful for what God has entrusted to our care and we are striving to be good and faithful stewards.

One of my Bible heroes is Daniel…he was such an excellent example of living with integrity. You can read some comments I made about him recently on my blog. I want to live like Daniel…I want to be willing to remove anything from my life that would interfere with my living a life of integrity.

Several years ago I tried to adopt the Christian Internet Code of Ethics from the Church of the Nazarene. I would challenge anyone who is using the internet to adhere to these guidelines.

Finally, when I stand before God I want Him to be able to say “Good work! You did your job well” (Matthew 25:21, The Message). I’m doing my best to serve God and live out the purpose He has for my life in the 21st century! Technology isn’t going away, and as long as the Lord tarries we are going to increasingly live in a technology saturated society. When I die, and when someone closes the box on my life, I trust they will be able to say the words that were written about David in Acts 13:36, “For David, after serving his own generation in God’s plan, fell asleep, was buried with his fathers, and decayed” (HCSB).

Are you serving your generation in God’s plan? Are you using the talents that He has given you and the resources that He has allowed you to have in your life to help advance His Kingdom? I trust that you can answer YES to these questions.

One of my favorite song writers, Haldor Lillenas, wrote these words:

I desire that my life shall be ordered by Thee, that my will be in perfect accord. With Thine own sov’reign will, Thy desires to fulfill, my wonderful, wonderful Lord.

All the talents I have I have laid at Thy feet; Thy approval shall be my reward. Be my store great or small, I surrender it all to my wonderful, wonderful Lord.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

