Stewards4Christ

January 14, 2008

“Absolutely no darkness”

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michael Wright @ 8:02 am

1 John 1:5, “God is light…there is absolutely no darkness in Him” (HCSB).There is no room for darkness in our relationship with Jesus Christ.  This is a tough standard…especially when we live in a world that is full of the darkness of sin.  Whether we are at Wal-Mart buying groceries, at the library getting materials for our children, or online using the technology that God has allowed us to have, darkness and evil are everywhere around.  Is it possible for us to have a relationship with “absolutely no darkness?”  I believe the answer is a resounding YES! 

God has promised to never leave nor forsake His children.  He will provide us the guidance we need to live in a dark world and yet not allow that darkness to invade our lives and interfere in our relationship with Him.  When I think about living in a corrupt world and not having darkness in my life, I think about one of my Bible heroes named Daniel.In Daniel 6:4-5 we read about Daniel’s life… “They could find no charge or corruption, for he was trustworthy, and no negligence or corruption was found in him” (HCSB).  Wow!  What a statement! 

This verse drastically challenges me because I think about my life…if someone went through my house, my library, or my web-browsing history would they be satisfied that there was no evidence of corruption?  I certainly hope so!  That is my desire…but living a pure and holy life does not come without diligence and purpose.  I believe this is why these words could be said of Daniel.

Before we ever make it to Daniel 6, we read in Daniel 1:8 that “Daniel made up his mind that he would not defile himself” (NASB).  The key to me is the phrase “made up his mind.”  Daniel had a purpose…he was a man of integrity, and he purposed to avoid anything that would bring even a trace of corruption or negligence into his life.

My prayer and desire is to so live my life that anyone could look through my life and I would have nothing to hide.  I’m thankful that if there is something that is not pleasing to God we do have an advocate through His son, Jesus Christ.  There is forgiveness of sin available to anyone who comes to Jesus with a repentant heart!

2 Comments »

  1. […] example of living with integrity. You can read some comments I made about him recently on my blog. I want to live like Daniel…I want to be willing to remove anything from my life that would […]

    Pingback by What the Bible says about technology « A Faithful Steward 4 A Faithful God — January 26, 2008 @ 8:59 am | Reply

  2. […] example of living with integrity.  You can read some comments I made about him recently on my blog.  I want to live like Daniel…I want to be willing to remove anything from my life that would […]

    Pingback by The Bible and Technology « Stewards4Christ — February 20, 2010 @ 2:24 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

