Stewards4Christ

April 11, 2007

Leaving The Fellowship of Christian Athletes

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michael Wright @ 4:00 pm

After nearly 10 years of working for The Fellowship of Christian Athletes, I’m leaving and making a career change. Below is an e-mail I sent to my co-workers as well as other family and friends. It tells you more about my future plans.

This is a hard e-mail to have to write to my fellow “family members” here at the FCA Home Office. For over a year God has been preparing me to make a change in my career. I’m planning to start a new job at Associates Solutions, Inc., as a Staff Consultant, on May 1, 2007. I leave FCA with a sense of excitement and a sense of fear! However, I’ve prayed and waited on the Lord for almost five months before making this decision. I really believe this is the direction He wants me to go at this time. I know that He will go with me…and the skills that I’ve developed while working at FCA will be useful wherever I go in the future!

One big advantage is that I will be changing from a 37 mile commute (each way) to a 17.5 mile commute each way. This will be a big relief to me. Driving 74 miles each day to work not only takes a lot of time but also takes a lot of money!

Beyond the difference in my commute will be the opportunity to take my computer and software skills – as they relate to accounting and business software solutions – to a new level. Associates Solutions, Inc., currently provides technical support to FCA for our accounting system. You can click on the link above to read more about the company and what they do. I’m excited about the opportunities I will have to help people with their accounting systems. I believe God has gifted me in the area of working on computers and having the patience to train others. I’m excited about the opportunity to do this on a daily basis.

August 9, 2007 would have been my 10 year anniversary here at FCA. This has been a great place for me to work…and you all really have treated me like family. I’ve told many people over the last several years about what a great place FCA is to work. I’ve told people that I could not have asked for a “better environment or nicer people!” You have all been very kind to work with and I hope that I’ve made a difference in the lives of at least a few of you here at FCA!

Luanna has never known anything other than FCA – as far as her Daddy’s job – and when she found out about this over the weekend she actually cried. For those of you that know Luanna, you will remember that she is a very kind and considerate young girl. She doesn’t like change, and I guess it was really hard for her to think about the possibility of not seeing some of you ever again. She really likes several of you and asks about you from time-to-time. I am planning to bring her and Esther in on April 26 for the “Bring Your Child To Work Day” so Luanna will be able to see you all one more time. Esther asked me Sunday evening, “Daddy, will someone else take your desk?” I told her it would be used by someone else. Those little gals are trying to figure everything out, for sure!

I will miss the FCA family…but the good news is I won’t be far away. As long as FCA remains a client of ASI, I will probably be back out here periodically to help with something as it relates to Solomon.

God bless you all. I don’t like having to say “good bye,” so, I’m not saying good-bye…I’m just telling you about a new chapter in my life!! I love every one of you and I would ask that you remember me and my family in your prayers as God brings us to your mind. Pray that I will be a bright and shining light for the Lord as I leave the “safety” of FCA and head out into the “real world!”

I’m claiming the promise given in Jeremiah 29:11-14a,

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. In those days when you pray, I will listen. If you look for me wholeheartedly, you will find me. I will be found by you,” says the Lord. (New Living Translation)

Michael

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

