Stewards4Christ

October 11, 2005

Our Heavenly Father

Filed under: Uncategorized — Michael Wright @ 3:49 pm

At 4 AM this morning, our oldest daughter, Luanna, came into our bedroom. She was awake and having trouble going to sleep. She was frustrated because she had listened to an instrumental CD once or twice and was still unable to sleep. Out of desperation she came to our room for help.

Shawna and I both talked with her and I started the CD again. Shawna suggested she “count sheep” and I explained how that works to her. About 30-40 minutes later…she called out, “Daddy, Daddy!” in a hushed whisper. I went into her bedroom and she said, “I’ve counted to 90 and I’m still not asleep!”

With this, her Daddy’s heart melted! I couldn’t resist my daughters plea for help. Since she sleeps in double bed, there was plenty of room for me to lie down beside her and comfort her. So, that’s what I did…I pulled the covers down and crawled into her bed with her. (Now, you probably wouldn’t have done that because you might think I’m spoiling her…but I don’t see it that way!)

I whispered with her a little more…we counted some more sheep…and after some time, she was back asleep! Meanwhile, it was now almost time for me get up and get ready for work. Yes, she awakened me about two hours earlier than normal…but while I was up trying to get my sleepy head ready for work, I thought of the beauty in what I had just experienced with my daughter. The words of this hymn started going through my mind:

The valley may be dark, the shadows deep, But O, the Shepherd guards His lonely sheep: And through the gloom He’ll lead me home, My heavenly Father watches over me.

At 4 AM, to an 8 year old the bedroom is a dark valley…the shadows no doubt seemed very deep. I became the “shepherd” to my daughter…I was able to guard my lonely “little lamb.” Daddy was there with her…she was comforted…and eventually sleep came back to her little body. She relaxed and slept like a baby for several hours!

God wants us as His little sheep to fully trust in Him. He doesn’t grow weary (like I do)…we don’t have to go to Him and wake Him up at 4 AM when we are troubled by something. He is ever present and ready to help.

Isa 41:10,13 “Do not fear, for I am with you; do not be afraid, for I am your God. I will strengthen you; I will help you; I will hold on to you with My righteous right hand. For I, the LORD your God, hold your right hand and say to you: Do not fear, I will help you.” (HCSB)

I trust in God, I know He cares for me, On mountain bleak or on the stormy sea; Tho’ billows roll, He keeps my soul, My heavenly Father watches over me.

I’m so thankful we serve a loving heavenly Father! He wants to help us through every difficulty…He wants to be right there by our side comforting us and giving us encouragement!

* “My Heavenly Father Watches Over Me” written by Rev. W.C. Martin

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

